Reminiscing in Monsoon

Sakshi Garg
2 min readJun 13, 2020

--

There’s something in a song that brings back memories, similarly there’s something in the weather, especially monsoon season(for me) which takes me back in time. It reminds me of my school days.

When I was in 11th grade I would take the public bus to commute to and from school. It was a 20–25 min ride and I would reach home around 1pm. During the monsoon season the weather would usually be between gloomy and sunny at that hour of the day. I remember walking from the bus stop to my apartment over the dampened footpath with broken leaves and twigs all around and small puddles of water in between uneven areas.

I loved the liveliness and sobreity in nature around me. The garden that fell on the way home would be lush green with not a soul in sight. The roads were mostly empty. I enjoyed noticing rainbows that appeared on the ground due to the reflection of light and rubbing my floaters against them to deform them.

Photo by Yassine Khalfalli on Unsplash

Monsoon also reminds me of evenings from college when it would unexpectedly rain and just completely turn the mood upside down. The sky would become hues of blue and grey, and sometimes more colourful. My friends and I would get out of our rooms and in our drenched clothes go to the mess for hi-tea. On other days we would quietly prepare maggi in one of our rooms and enjoy it together while listening to barsaati music. Sometimes after class we would go to the thadi to grab snacks when the weather became such.

The most recent memories attached to monsoon are from Bangalore, my other home. The windy, mildly gloomy weather is omnipresent there, mornings and evenings alike. I miss preparing breakfast and sitting in the balcony sipping chai during dewy mornings or going to the terrace in the evening to watch the clouds and planes fly by.

Photo by eberhard grossgasteiger on Unsplash

“Rain clouds come floating in, not to muddy my days ahead, but to make me calm, happy and hopeful.”

--

--